Citizens' Academy
The Rockingham County Citizens’ Academy is a free, ten-week program for Rockingham County citizens to learn and better understand how Rockingham County Government operates.  The 10-week classes are on Thursday evenings.  
Please apply now for this exciting, educational experience!  Just click this link to apply online: 
  • Graduation occurs during the recognition section of a meeting of the Rockingham County Board of Commissioners.
  • The Citizens' Academy is coordinated for citizen community leaders by citizen leaders who are graduates of the program.
InTheNewsGraphic  .
• RockinghamNow (1) (2)
• RockinghamUpdate

What Is The Rockingham County CITIZENS’ ACADEMY? The Rockingham County Citizens’ Academy was approved, endorsed by the Rockingham County Board of Commissioners on April 10, 2012.  The inaugural class was held during the Fall of 2012 and sponsored by County Commissioners.  Citizens' Academy started with a Steering Committee and was coordinated by the Public Information Officer.  Following the Spring/2013 graduating class, the Citizens’ Academy transitioned to a citizens’ led Academy, with a Steering Committee led by program graduates.

Purpose: To inform, educate, engage, and empower local citizens with a thorough, behind-the-scenes view of Rockingham County Government in order to help grow and develop future County Governmental leaders; to personally meet and talk with County elected officials, department heads, appointed Board/Committee leaders, and staff to better understand how County Government operates; to gain a working knowledge about the County’s overall organization, vision, mission, goals, objectives, budget, policies, procedures, and day-to-day functions to create civic ambassadors who may enlighten others about County Government.

Who Can Attend: Any Rockingham County resident, employee, or business owner 18 years of age or older; All Rockingham Community College students may participate, in or out of County.

APPLICATIONS: Citizens’ Academy applications are on the Rockingham County Government’s website and may be completed ONLINE by clicking<HERE>.

You may print the application or request an application by contacting the Rockingham County Public Information Officer, Dr. Mable Scott, Suite 210,  Rockingham County Governmental Center, 371 NC 65, Reidsville, NC 27375.  Phone:  336.342.8342, or email:  Completed applications must be emailed, mailed or delivered to Rockingham County’s Public Information Office.

Should you experience any technical difficulties or incompatibilities submitting your application online, please send your application to Public Information Officer Mable Scott, Suite 210, Rockingham County Governmental Center, 371 NC 65, Wentworth, NC 27375.  Phone:  336.342.8342, fax: 336.342.8105, or email:


FALL 2019

Mariana Farias Barlow of ReidsvilleBetsy Brame of Eden;Tanner Brame of EdenBrenda E. Cannon of ReidsvilleJennie B. Decker of ReidsvilleRachel Fetzer of EdenMaricarmen Garduno of Reidsville; Deborah Herbin of ReidsvilleMary D. Martin of MadisonRob Martin
of Eden; Dylan Moore of ReidsvilleJoseph Reed of EdenCory Scott of ReidsvilleChantel Simpson of ReidsvilleMarcia Simpson of ReidsvilleStacy Southern of Summerfield; and Wendy Trogdon of Mayodan

FALL 2018

Valencia Ann Abbott of Reidsville, Nichole L. Boswell of Reidsville, Kelia E. Fernandez of Eden, Melissa G. Galloway of Reidsville, Barbara R. Garland of Eden, Angel Goldstone of Greensboro, Karen E. Jenkins of Reidsville, Kenneth L. Peterkin of Reidsville, Dianne H. Pickard of Eden, Clyde Robertson of Eden, Marcus Slade of Eden, Wanda Taylor of Stoneville, Facio Visaya of Reidsville.

Fall 2017

Cheryl Albrecht, Paul Brockett, Alyssa Cohen, William Conwell, George E. Daniels, Ann Fish, Anthony Gray Johnson, Sandra Broadnax Jones, Layla Kennon, Ernest Lawson, Jerry McMichael, Vanessa Perkins, Douglas Scanland, Edward Shelton, Jennifer Smith, Julie Talbert, Justin Thacker, Parker W. Turpin, Ijeoma Claudia Abajtour-Ukonu

Fall 2016 

Elisabeth Cedillo, Debbie Ellis, Gerri Hunt of Eden, Joseph Irving, Roberta Lindsey, Walter Moore, Amber Nawa, Tammy Nichols, Geraldine Partee, Cathy Scales, Kirk Smith, Tonya Totten, Tyra Totten, Sandy Williams 

Fall 2015

 Belal Elrahal, Janice Flowers, Vanessa Gaddy, Pamela Hall, Anne Harper, Mary Hawkins, Luis Jimenez, Sarah Jimenez,
Carol Johnson, Ken McCandless, Bonnie Pedone, Fred Pedrone, Shelby Rhyne, Amy Simpson, June Willis, Lisa Colfield, Larry Baynes, James Stephens


Fall 2014

  Anna Barker, Edwin Barker II, Barbara Boudreax, Terry Brown, Faye Crawford, Doris Davis, Fleecie Ellington, Andrea Fox, Hope Gilley, Dorothy Harris, John Harris, Rev. Paul Kennedy, Noreen C. Key, Cynthia Langston, Roy Langston, Bruce Lee, Rhonda Lemons, Robert Lowdermilk, Juanita Nunley, Fredrick Thompson

Fall 2013

Norris Beveridge, Sr., Sharon Beveridge, Betty Brantley, Megan Browning, Judy Dacio, Gary Fox, Marie Fox, Doug Isley, Betty Marcellus, Linda Martin, Patricia Saunders, Angel Thurston, and Tom & Janice Wangard

Spring 2013

Victor Armstrong, Jacey Bell, Anthony Cook, Mary Ann Evans, Michele Foust, Bob Graham, Georgia Graves, Brent Huss, David Mathis, Tammy Nash, Melissa S. Johnson, Robert Pankey, Pat Perry, Talmadge Priddy, Dawn Rogers, Thomas Schoolfield, Sheila Tilley, Karen Tucker, Sharon Wheeler, Doris Whitt, Margherita DeRosa

 Fall 2012

 Lula C. Bass, Deborah Brady, Walt Cooper, Amber Cruz, Sara Cummings, Sherry Garrett, Theresa Giles, Mark Hatchett, Leanna Lawson, Clarinda Lipscomb, Edna McCollum, Sammy Massey, Gary L. Moore, Linda Nye, Meggan R. Odell, Jeffrey H. Parris, Sharon G. Penley, Richard Junior Ratliff, Royce L. Richardson, John Roberts, Matt Smith, Phyllis A Thomas, Jeffrey E. Utter, Casey Vincent, Heather Welch, William N. Wells Jr.

(For Additional Videos, Including Classes from the initial year of operation, Use PLAYLIST Function on Video Player)

2012 Citizens' Academy Inaugural Class Videos 

1. Welcome, introductions, purpose, Steering Committee, County Board of Commissioners, Appointed Boards/Committees, County Manager, County Government’s organizational chart, County Government 101, Civics in Action – SEPT. 6 in Governmental Center Board Room, 371 NC 65, Wentworth.


2. Geography, History, Population, Culture, Quality of Life, SWOT Analysis – SEPT. 13 at Museum & Archives of Rockingham County (MARC), former County Courthouse, 1086 NC 65, Wentworth.


3. Human Resources, Safety/Risk, Legal, Information Technology, Public Information Office – SEPT. 20 in Governmental Center Board Room.


4. Public Health, Engineering & Public Utilities, Soil & Water Conservation, Code Enforcement, Animal Shelter – SEPT. 27 in Governmental Center Kitchen.


5. Department of Social Services, Veterans Services, Youth Services, Head Start – OCT. 4 in Governmental Center Board Room.


6. Cooperative Extension, Business & Technology Center, Partnership for Economic & Tourism Development – OCT. 11 in Governmental Center Board Room.


7. Board of Elections, Library – OCT. 18 at Rockingham County Public Library’s Eden Branch, 598 S. Pierce Street Eden, NC 27288.


8. Law Enforcement, Fire, Emergency Management, 9-1-1 Communications, Emergency Medical Services, Pre-Trial Services – OCT. 25 at Law Enforcement Center Training Room, 170 NC 65, Reidsville, NC 27320.


9. Register of Deeds, Planning/Inspections, Geographic Information Systems, Tax Department – NOV. 1 at Rockingham Community College’s Advanced Technology Building. 5:30 p.m.-105 conference room for boxed meals. 6:05 p.m.-106 computer lab.


10. Budget, Finance, Purchasing, Lean Management – NOV. 8 in Governmental Center Board Room.


GRADUATION – NOV. 13 during Board of Commissioners’ Recognitions in Governmental Center Board Room.



Seal Color   

 Rockingham County North Carolina
Contact Us
Rockingham County Government
371 NC Hwy 65
Reidsville NC 27320
Phone: 336.342.8100
Fax: 336.342.8105